Fathers who dare win.

All Blacks v England

Rugby isn’t as important as the things my dad taught me

I remember someone asking me the things that my dad had taught me. It’s easy to rattle off the kind of things that you would expect a dad to do with their sons… fixing cars, changing tyres, kicking rugby balls in the park, going to rugby games and mulling over the technicalities of the All Black scrums front row…
While my dad and I did a lot of these things they’re not the things that I’m proud that my dad taught me.

My dad is my hero… not because he has saved the world from extreme famine, saved someone from a burning building or even something really cool like being a race car driver… while these things are cool, I’m proud of my dad because I know where he stands.

He’s not the kind of dad to try and be cool… he never tried to smuggle me an under age drink without mum knowing… he never tried to start an after formal party as a way to befriend me or my friends… if he had done that the only thing he would have done was to become my personal bank, someone who I would run to when I needed something. It wouldn’t be anything deeper than a personal benefactor.
However my dad was much smarter than that.

My dad was love and friendship wrapped up in authority…

When I was in trouble dad didn’t just tell me off… I knew I was trouble and I knew I had disappointed not just myself but also my dad too.
Dad would help me to think about what I had done wrong… and then gave me the tools to fix the problem.

I respected my dad… I still do.

My dad taught me the important things in life…

  • That people are important
  • Be a person of integrity
  • Don’t be too much of a man to show love
  • You may have lots of expensive things but at the end of the day it’s only ‘stuff’
  • Having a faith is a wise decision not a foolish hope…

These to me are important things.

And at the end if the day I can go to my dad about almost anything…
he’s a good friend…
he’s an awesome mentor…
he’s a great role model…

To be honest I wish I was more like my dad.

I remember Ian Grant (the father whisperer) once quote Daman Wayan he said:

“I wanted to be just like my dad… except for the drug habit, the failed marriages, the temper and the guns”

I can happily say my dad wasn’t like that…
I’m who I am today because of what my dad chose to spend time working on in my life.

Leave a Reply

