Remember Who You Are…

Child 1

Remember who you are…

Lately I’ve been thinking a lot about what sort of knowledge I would like to impart to our Children…

What sort of Legacy will I leave?

I could play football with them, I could sing and play guitar with them, I could act crazy and have a lot of laughs with them… and it seems to me that all that is good… in fact it’s very good, and I would love to spend more time doing that.

But it still leaves me with the question…
What sort of Legacy will I leave?

The guy who has been considered the wisest guy who ever lived said this:

Direct your children onto the right path, and when they are older, they will not leave it.
– Proverbs 22:6 New Living Translation

And it got me thinking… I could teach them all sorts of cool stuff.
I could teach them music and about rugby and the Bible… HOWEVER…
I had this sudden prompting, that all that stuff (yes including reading the Bible) means nothing unless my kids know who they are.

It’s about application…

And it has many layers…

As a Goose-kid: (part of OUR family)
We don’t steal, we don’t hit, we respect each other, we don’t swear, we are polite, we invite people into our play rather than exclude… etc

As a Christian: (part of God’s family)
We believe the Bible is the inspired word of God, We believe that Jesus died for us and paid the price for our sin on the cross… etc

Of Course I could add to the list for days…

but the more we start to unpack all these things the more our children start to have as sense of not only what they are… but who they are… and they understand why some of the things that we do are different to what the rest of the world does.

It’s not because the rest of the world is wrong… but because we (our team) play by a different play book… a different set of rules.

The plan is that as we grow up we develop an understanding so that as our children venture out into the world… we can stand… and not give the standard lecture that we were all given as we head into the unknown…

But we can say…

“Hey REMEMBER who you are…”

“And you must love the Lord your God with all your heart, all your soul, and all your strength. And you must commit yourselves wholeheartedly to these commands that I am giving you today. Repeat them again and again to your children. Talk about them when you are at home and when you are on the road, when you are going to bed and when you are getting up.”
Deuteronomy 6:6 NLT

Leave a Reply

