Without a Doubt?

Doubt

I recently revisited the book ‘Blue Like Jazz’ by Donald Miller. Blue Like Jazz was an important book for me in my Christian journey because it was the first book that I had read by a Christian who expressed doubt in their faith. I had read hundred of books by Christian authors who seemed to have it all together… and I became disillusioned. Why? because it didn’t explain what I was feeling… I certainly didn’t feel like I was secure in my faith all the time… I sometimes doubted if God even existed… did this make me a bad Christian.

What I discovered was ‘no I’m not a bad Christian’…

You see even the disciples doubted… Peter nearly drowned with Jesus right in front of him while he was walking on water… “I can’t believe I’m walking on water…”

C.S. Lewis said it like this:

“If ours is an examined faith, we should be unafraid to doubt. If doubt is eventually justified, we were believing what clearly was not worth believing. But if doubt is  answered, our faith has grown stronger. It knows God more certainly and it can enjoy God more deeply.”

We are always gonna have doubts… it’s not wrong. However like Blue Like Jazz I hope that you keep the Bible in the middle of those doubts… because The Bible hasn’t changed for 1000’s of years… and the God who inspired the words in that book hasn’t changed EVER.

Explore… and it may just mean you discover your faith even deeper… or even Walk on Water?

Leave a Reply

