Breathe in, Breathe out (or rest)

Day 46 - BreatheI recently got diagnosed with obstructive sleep apnea, this means that every night I stop breathing, and my body has to wake me to get me to have another breath. What does this mean? It means that I don’t go into a deep enough sleep and so even after a long sleep I still wake up tired.

So what is the cure?

I have to sleep with a mask over my nose, with constant air being pushed through a machine that gives continuous positive airway pressure (CPAP). This  CPAP machine generates the required air pressure to keep my airways open during sleep. This means when I wake up in the morning I wake up refreshed because my body has had enough oxygen for my body to feel refreshed.

It actually got me thinking about my spiritual life.

Because we are ‘only human’ it seems we can’t rest completely in Christ and what he wants for our life because ‘the world’ wakes us up from our sleep. We walk around wondering why we are feeling so tired with our life… the problem is that we haven’t had a chance to rest or we think we’ve rested however what we need is a breath.

Just as my CPAP machine gives me a constant air pressure that gives me enough oxygen to fully rest… we also need the  same in our prayer life. When we rest on the words that Jesus gave and mediate on those words it’s like we give oxygen to our spiritual life… and that creeps into our normal life.

How deep is your rest?

How is your oxygen levels?

What is the positive air pressure levels in your life… is it just good words… or is it something deeper?

 

One thought on “Breathe in, Breathe out (or rest)

Leave a Reply

