Christmas: ‘Emmanuel… God with us’

English: Danboard holding a Christmas gift.

Gift of Life...

23 “Look! The virgin will conceive a child!
She will give birth to a son,
and they will call him Immanuel,[b]
which means ‘God is with us.’          Matthew 1:23

The heart of the Christmas story… ‘God with us’ so what does that look like???

I was reminded of this Bible verse when I was watching the Sport on the News of all things. I was watching the news and Emma (my wife) was trying to talk to me. I couldn’t tell you what she said to me… but I’m sure I nodded or said “hmmm” in agreement to what she had said.

No one else can think of a time they did something similar surely??? (yeah right!)

It’s kind of what we’re like with Jesus (and not just at Christmas either)

What??? How do you figure.

Well at Christmas time we were given this gift… Jesus… Emmanuel… ‘God with us’

But have we treated him like I treated my wife during the news? Do we even know he’s in the room?

There is no better gift to have been given, a way in which to be saved… and Christmas is a real reminder of this, however it’s time for us to start to pay attention to the gift that’s in the room… this gift that has been placed under this massive Christmas tree we call ‘life’.

Friends and family members are dying, and there seems to be rhyme or reason to what we see… however… what if it’s a reminder for us to ‘seize the day’ and this awesome gift we have been given…

It could be as simple this year of the knowledge that you will never be alone again…

Open this gift… it’s as simple as just saying “God be with me…” 

One thought on “Christmas: ‘Emmanuel… God with us’

  1. Pingback: Christmas Gifts « HodgePodge

Leave a Reply

