It’s not about you…

Do you ever get the feeling that God is trying to tell you  something???

I get it all the time… and God obviously knows that I’m a slow learner so for the last couple of weeks, I have been listening to podcasts from 3 or 4 different pastors and ALL of them have focused on the same idea… and the idea (or thought/lesson) is “It’s not about YOU… it’s NEVER been about YOU”

Whoa… that’s a hard lesson to learn.

1st time I heard it it was like “yeah… I get that”

2nd time I heard it it was like “hey… this guys preaching on the same topic”

3rd time “ok ok… I get the point… I’ll listen!!”

AND THEN… to really drive the point home… I read the chapter in the Bible where one of Jesus’ good friends was sick and he was dying and MAry and Martha sent a message that pretty much said “come quick it’s not looking good”…

So what did Jesus do?

He waited a couple of days and by the time he got there… his friend was not only dead… but dead and buried.

Can you IMAGINE the agony Mary and Martha had been through… they would have sent message in hope that because it was a good friend that Jesus would have come running… but he didn’t… was he being insensitive? I mean he was healing strangers left right and centre but he couldn’t even find time for his mate… in fact he took his sweet time.

And then he says this…

“And for your sakes, I’m glad I wasn’t there, for now you will really believe. Come, let’s go see him.” – John 11:15

How insensitive… you mean to say even while everyone was going through this hard time Jesus was saying… “it’s not about YOU”

You can hear the frustration in Mary and Martha’s voice…

“if you had been here, my brother would not have died.” – John 11:21

“Lord, if you had been here, my brother would not have died.” – John11:32

“by this time there is a bad odor, for he has been there four days.” – John11:39

Then  Jesus turned to the tomb and said this prayer

“Father, I thank you that you have heard me You always hear me, but I said it out loud for the sake of all these people standing here, so that they will believe you sent me” and then he said “Lazarus come out”

So basically he was saying this “I’m only doing this show so that know one thinks it’s just me… this is for YOUR glory”

You see sometimes we are so focused on the pain that WE are going through that we don’t realise that God is holding off to REALLY show his Glory

That God is holding off because he’s got something BETTER to show you…

You see we think it’s about US?

When it never was?

It was ALWAYS about him… because for the really BIG miracles to happen… we need to go through the biggest amount of pain sometimes.

Have you  noticed the BIG miracles happen when we HAVE to let God be… GOD???

FOR his Glory… We’re Here for HIM.

Leave a Reply

