I Like Voting in Elections…

Animated flag of New Zealand.

Image via Wikipedia

I really like election time… yeah I know that sounds crazy but the thing I like about it is the fact that I get to have a voice…

But here is the dilemma… who do you vote for?

As a Christian I have decided to start to look at politics through my faith… rather than my faith through my politics, so what does that mean… it means I aim to try and vote based on what God says, rather than how much money politicians say they will throw my way or what heart string pulling speech they will throw my way.

So here is my approach… I’m looking not at political lines – I’m looking at their morals, and their ethics.

Now I know what you’re thinking “Come on… nobody’s perfect” – but we’re not talking about Scouts NZ we’re talking about people who are leading and representing our country. My Dad is a guy who is morally and ethically a good guy, so I know for a fact that someone can lead a life in a way that they don’t need to drop their moral compass… I’m sure you can think of people like this too… so we know it’s not impossible. So isn’t it only fair to ask, shouldn’t we expect the person who represents us in parliament to not only do their job with good morals  but also good ethics.

In other words we want people who walk their talk… these people are OUR leaders and WE get to VOTE them in.

Solomon once wrote:

“The honor of good people will lead them, but those who hurt others will be destroyed by their own false ways.” (or another version says “the unfaithful are destroyed by their duplicity”) 

In other words, people who say one thing and do the other can’t be trusted… but those that walk their talk have some integrity.

Let me put it another way 

If they would lie to their wife… who will they not lie to?

If they gamble and are dishonest with their own money… what makes you think I will be happy with you handling mine?

I really don’t care what side of the political fence you sit on but if we VOTE people into our parliament who are filled with integrity, who  not only say they support family, but they prove it in their own lives.

And we NEED to vote… and not just some random vote to spite the BIG parties…

but a vote that was going to be better for YOUR community… for our country.

The great thing about our country is that everyone who is in parliament… is voted in… BY US!

 

Leave a Reply

