God wants to Hunt You Down…

killing time... with a bullitt

Image by JKönig via Flickr

To say I love Psalm 23 is a understatement… I have made it unofficially our families Bible verse… you all know it I’m sure, “the Lord is my shepherd I will lack nothing, he leads me down to rest in green meadows, he leads me beside peaceful streams…” and it goes on but the part of the verse I’m loving at the moment is this part:

“Surely goodness and unfailing love will pursue me all the days of my life”

– NLT version

Now in some versions it’s says “follow me all the days of my life” but this doesn’t even come close to what the original Hebrew said… you see the word used to get “follow” is actually a hunting term meaning to pursue or capture – one place it was translated “bloody avenger” one commentator has noted that “this is the only place where this verb and this noun are combined and coupled together in Scripture”… and if you think about it, that’s pretty cool.

But now picture this… God is wanting to hunt you down… he wants to track you down… he’s pursuing you- like some 80’s car chase… TO BLESS YOU!

He’s like the “ghosting” champion of the world – for those not sure what ghosting is check the link  here

But he’s planning on doing it… ALL THE DAYS OF YOUR LIFE.

So even when you turn away from him… he’s chasing you down… now please here me… I’m not talking about some great ‘bless me club’ that no bad thing ever happens to them, because God never promise an easy ride, in fact he promised it will be hard, but have you ever found yourself in a situation where you KNOW that only God could have landed you in that situation, where you got so much more than you deserved in a good way?
That’s God chasing you down… hunting you.

Know the favour of God… know his blessings… it may not be wealth and power – although scriptures do show that God will give those thing to those who need it… but be prepared to be blessed!

Some call it the favour of God… when in the darkest of cirumstances God is still blessing you. Think about Joeseph , thrown in prision… shadrach meshach and abednego thrown into the furness… we could go on for a while.

turn around now… God is there waiting to give you a blessing!

Leave a Reply

